Coldplay release new track 'Hypnotised' and announce new EP

Matthew Hunt
March 5, 2017

Kaleidoscope consists of five songs and "Hypnotised" is a non-single from the EP.

REUTERS/Toby MelvilleColdplay perform at the Brit Awards 2017. The "non-single song" is a heavy piano ballad and comes packaged in a gorgeous lyric video from Mary Wigmore.

The announcement came on frontman Chris Martin's 40th birthday on March 2, along with the surprise release of one of the tracks included in the EP, "Hypnotised". To help build some buzz for the new mini-album, Coldplay has also shared a new song named "Hypnotised". According to Billboard, the chart "measures the real-time acceleration of conversation around artists and their music on Twitter".

In a statement, Coldplay described the EP as a "sister release" to the band's last album A Head Full Of Dreams that featured a song called Kaleidoscope.

Kaleidoscope will be the 12th EP of Coldplay's career; others include Live in Madrid, Prospekt's March and iTunes Festival: London 2011. The band has gone on a marathon global tour for A Head Full Of Dreams.

Kaleidoscope EP Tracklist: 01.

Other reports by Ligue1talk

Discuss This Article